Glitchaus Dada Data Knit ed.2

Glitchaus Dada Data Knit ed.2

220,00 

Under the name NOTENDO, Jeff Donaldson stages audiovisual performances on a modified game console from the 80s. Fascinated by the similarities of the consciously generated but at the same time accidental disturbances – glitches – with textile patterns and structures he began to implement these patterns on knitting machines in fashion textiles. One step further is his data knits, for which he translated well-known computer viruses (I Love You, Stuxnet) into knitted patterns.

As part of the Glitchaus Data Knit series, the “Dada Data Knit” motif is created by looking at binary data as a pixel. Each zero is translated into a black and every one into a white pixel. The result is a complex, step-like pattern that reveals the hidden data structure of the underlying image. The resulting motif is knit “Pixel to Stitch” by a machine, storing binary data – in a scarf.

Why DADA? The second edition of the Glitchaus “Dada Data Knit” series was developed exclusively for the Bauhaus.Atelier in Weimar. The underlying data was selected solely for their aesthetic appeal. Subjecting the data stored in the scarf to “reverse engineering” would result in an unreadable data salad – Dada data bar of any content.

Limited Edition: 20 copies

50/50 Merino wool / Acryl
175 x 25 cm

Need Help? Contact Us Leave Feedback

Categories: , ,

Glitchaus Dada Data Knit ed.2

Glitchaus Dada Data Knit ed.2

220,00 

Jeff Donaldson gehört zu den Protagonisten der Glitch-Art Bewegung. Unter dem Namen NOTENDO inszeniert er audiovisuelle Performances auf einer modifizierten Spielekonsole aus den 80er Jahren. Fasziniert von den Ähnlichkeiten der bewusst erzeugten, doch gleichzeitig zufälligen Störungen – Glitches – mit textilen Mustern und Strukturen begann er 2011 diese Muster auf Strickmaschinen in Modetextilien umzusetzen. Einen Schritt weiter gehen seine Data-Knits, für die er bekannte Computerviren (I Love You, Stuxnet) in Strickmuster übersetzt hat.

Als Teil der Glitchaus Data Knit Serie entsteht das “Dada Data Knit” Motiv indem binäre Daten als Pixel betrachtet werden. Jede Null wird in ein schwarzes und jede Eins in ein weißes Pixel übersetzt. So entsteht ein komplexes, stufenförmiges Muster das die verborgene Datenstruktur des zugrunde gelegten Bildes zum Vorschein bringt. Das resultierende Motiv wird „Pixel to Stitch“ von einer Maschine gestrickt und speichert so binäre Daten – in einem Schal.

Warum DADA? Die zweite Edition der Glitchaus „Dada Data Knit“ Serie wurde exklusiv für das Bauhaus.Atelier in Weimar entwickelt. Die zugrunde liegenden Daten wurden ausschließlich wegen Ihrer ästhetischen Anmutung ausgewählt. Die im Schal gespeicherten Daten einem „reverse engineering“ zu unterziehen würde in einem unlesbaren Datensalat resultieren – Dada Daten bar jedes Inhalts.

Limitierte Edition: Auflage 20 Stück

50/50 Merino Wolle / Acryl
175 x 25 cm

Need Help? Contact Us Leave Feedback

Categories: , ,